Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting a culture. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There is a school of thought that tourism is one of the fastest-growing industries throughout the world. Nevertheless, its impact on culture brings much contentious debate. This essay will elaborate on both positive and negative sides of tourism from a cultural perspective.

Providing economic stimulus for cultural preservation is undisputedly one of the main donations of tourism. This is done through attracting tourists, which incentivises governments to invest in and preserve their history and culture. Their mindset has been acknowledged by many tourism sites and money has been subsequently directed toward cultural conservation, including the maintenance of key historical sites.

Moreover, we can see from the New Zealand indigenous culture that it is widely known around the world and tourism plays a large role in promoting this. When a historic site or some sites that shows a country’s cultural heritage is made accessible to the public, vacationers from all over the world will soon flock there. They will share their memory in the local culture with their soul mates and families once they come back home, assisting those sites to gain international fame. Hence, both technical and invested support will flood in protection of cultural and natural supplies.

On the die negative sides, tourism largely revolve around the harm caused to areas and objects, with numerous popular historic sites having been damaged and mistreated by foreign tourists. Traditional foods, drinks, festivals, costumes and other stimulating components of the cultures are highlighted to entertain vacationers, constituting an insult to the locals and leading to damage to the unique nature of a culture. Furthermore, cultural commercialisation has made the sacred ingredient of a cultural routine and visitors are encouraged to attach small importance to a unique tradition, which cannot be found otherwhere.

In a nutshell, there is no doubt that tourism carries on benefits both economically and by providing further reason for cultural preservation. However, the aforementioned drawbacks show that these cultural relics and sites should also be protected from the damage travellers can cause.