People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working longer hours has become more and more prevalent in today’s society, which has a severe impact on both workers themselves and their family or the community as a whole. Hence, I totally agree with the idea of limiting working hours.

There are several reasons why long hours of working are considered harmful to individuals. To embark on, in earlier times, people used to work only 8 hours a day. These days, nevertheless, average daily working hours have almost increased up to between 11 and 14 hours, which adversely affects people’s health and productivity. For instance, those who spend longer hours working tend to take up inadequate physical activities and therefore are more likely to suffer from various health issues, ranging from stress, fatigue to more serious diseases such as depression. Falling health, consequently, leads to regular sick leave, poor performance at work, low productivity, which not only causes great damage to the company but also threatens employees’ quality of life.

Equally importantly, I also believe that extended hours of work have negative impacts on families and communities. Firstly, busy working schedules prevent parents from talking and playing with their children. This is extremely detrimental to the development of youngsters as without careful supervision of parents, they stand a higher chance of committing violence or criminal activities in life. On top of that, the bond between people in the family is weakened as well, resulting in constant misunderstanding between members. Secondly, in terms of community life, overworked people seem not to have enough time to devote to voluntary activities that bring about various benefits to the society.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my state that a restricted working hours legislation should be adopted; otherwise, individuals themselves, family, and society would suffer as a result.