Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly considered by some that there is no point in allocating resources to the preservation of wildlife animals as they no longer have many natural habitats. Nevertheless, I completely disagree with this point of view. The justifications for this are as follows.

In my opinion, it is an irrefutable fact that biodiversity has a critical role to play in maintaining a balanced ecosystem. In other words, the disappearance of a single species would disrupt the entire food chain, affecting various other species of flora and fauna, which finally poses a threat to our existence. A salient example is that when there are few predators (especially ducks), grasshoppers could develop on a large scale, resulting in locust outbreaks that adversely affect many farmers’ crops.

I am also against the idea that protecting animals is a waste of money. To embark on, humans rely heavily on crops and agricultural plants for a variety of purposes, ranging from food to economy. However, if it were not for insects’ pollination, we would not be able to have bumper crops until now. As a result, agriculture could suffer if such pollen-carrying species as bees, birds, and butterflies are reduced to extinction.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that preserving animals is of great significance as it not only helps to deter an ecological crisis but also plays a crucial role in ensuring sustainable agriculture.