Some people think that people who choose a job early and keep doing it are more likely to have a satisfying career life than those who frequently change jobs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that people who pursue and continue with a particular career choice early in life find it more rewarding than those switching jobs regularly. Whereas there are persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that job-hopping would provide people with a greater sense of fulfillment.

On the one hand, there are several merits to embarking on a career early and remaining on it for a long period of time. To embark on, workers would benefit from job prospects, which include promotion opportunities and pay rises. As experience and commitment are taken into consideration when deciding who to get promoted and who to be dismissed, those who are loyal to a certain company stand a higher chance of moving up the career ladder and earning a lucrative salary. Furthermore, there are various perks for employees that keep the same job, namely sick leave, holiday entitlement, a generous pay package, yearly bonuses, etc. On top of that, some are also able to establish a network of partners and have supportive work colleagues.

On the other hand, I believe that those who change career paths experience greater fulfillment. Firstly, as they work in different working environments, they are able to acquire a wide range of new skills and have the opportunity to put the knowledge gained from previous employment into practice as well, which makes them more flexible and capable of dealing with any challenges they face in work and life. Secondly, selecting a steady job seems to be an overwhelming decision for youngsters who are yet to have relevant experiences. Hence, being exposed to various fields, young people can figure out their strengths and weaknesses as well as the most suitable profession that fits their competence and interest.

By way of conclusion, while maintaining the same profession has its own benefits, I reaffirm my state that job-hopping would definitely guarantee people’s job satisfaction in later life.