Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that there is no importance to animals living in the wild and expenditure on saving them in the 21st century. I partly agree with the opinion, as wild animals and protecting them are not as crucial as many exaggerate.

I believe that people have no right to underestimate the appearance of wild animals. People may peacefully live with wild animals and do not need to hunt all kinds of species in the world. Moreover, wild animals can contribute to the diversity of the ecosystem, which is beneficial for people’s lives. For example, animals can help maintain ecological balance and keep the food chain stable in the wild. Thus, it seems useful to protect and give wild animals a place to coexist with people not only in this century but also in the future.

However, if wild animals disappear, it will not have any seriously dramatic consequences for our lives. Nowadays, people tend to face a variety of eco-social issues caused by overpopulation and a lack of natural resources. It is more necessary to allocate the resources of society to address the hottest issues, such as housing and food, than to focus them on protecting wild animals. Furthermore, the extinction of a wild creature might not always be a bad thing. Take the disappearance of dinosaurs as an example; it might generate a significant chance for other species, including humans, to evolve and develop. As a result, investing resources in protecting wild animals can be regarded as a waste to some extent.

In conclusion, I partly agree that wild animals and saving them are important since people should spend resources on other fields. So, the protection of wild animals should be invested reasonably.