In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, living alone has become a more popular choice around the world than it used to be. In my opinion, this tendency can have both significant benefits and dramatic shortcomings for people who choose it.

On the one hand, people may gain various advantages related to their knowledge and value when living on their own. Firstly, the citizens will have to learn how to prepare independently for their lives without any support from their flatmates or family members if they decide to live alone. They are likely to struggle to finish house chores or pay all bills by themselves, helping them gain useful knowledge and skills not only for their present but also for their marriage lives in the future. Secondly, people living on their own can confirm and develop their values without being disturbed or affected by others. For example, Gen Z citizens with different thinking and hobbies compared to the older generations in their family might be satisfied with this trend as they have the opportunity to show their characteristics and choose their unique lifestyles.

On the other hand, there are a variety of drawbacks if people choose to live alone. People living alone might be faced with more negative emotions such as isolation and worry because of the lack of support or interaction with their family members and partners. If they are suffering from socio-economic pressure, they will feel more stressed than those living with their family. Furthermore, they will be potential victims of crimes when living alone. For example, it is hard for their relatives to protect them from cybercriminals. Thus, the criminals will more easily attack them.

In conclusion, living alone has been an evitable trend, although it can have positive and negative sides for people who choose this trend.