Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that there is no importance to animals living in the wild and expenditure on saving them in the 21st century. I partly agree with the opinion, as wild animals and protecting them do not play as crucial a role as many exaggerate.

On the one hand, I hold a strong belief that people have no right to underestimate or eliminate the significance of wild animals and their natural habitats. People may peacefully live with wild animals and do not need to hunt or destroy all kinds of species and their environments in the world. In addition, it is true that the appearance of wild animals can contribute to the diversity of the ecosystem, meaning that it is beneficial for people’s lives. For example, children would have the opportunity to learn about the food chain of animals living in the wild or observe their lifestyle. Thus, it seems useful to protect and give wild animals a place to coexist with people not only in this century but also in the future.

On the other hand, I also think that if wild animals disappear, it will not have any seriously dramatic consequences for our lives and natural resources. Nowadays, people tend to face a variety of eco-social issues caused by overpopulation and a lack of natural resources. It is more necessary to allocate the power and resources of society to address the hottest issues, such as housing and agricultural land, than to focus these resources on protecting wild animals. Furthermore, the extinction of a wild creature might not always be a bad thing. Take the disappearance of dinosaurs as an example; it might generate a significant chance for other species, including humans, to evolve and develop. As a result, investing a variety of resources in protecting wild animals can be regarded as a waste to some extent.

In conclusion, I partly support the idea that wild animals and their protection are important, but I think that people should consider other eco-social fields to spend their money on and attempt to deal with, and the issues of wild animals should be invested reasonably.