People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is sometimes argued that authorities should raise the price of petrol to address environmental issues. Although this could be true to a certain extent, I tend to believe that there are better ways to combat these problems.

Admittedly, there are several benefits associated with increasing the cost of fuel. Firstly, the number of private cars and motorbikes are likely to reduce in a way that best suits for expensive cost, which means exhaust fumes from vehicles will be cut down. In fact, people prefer to take public transport rather than drive, which lead the governments put more resources into public transport provision. Secondly, in terms of freight services, more goods would have to transported by rail rather than truck. This measure would limit the carbon dioxide emissions and contribute to reduce the greenhouse effect.

However, in my view, goverments could adopt many policies which could be more effective in the long term. From an educational perspective, the authorities should launch environmental campaigns to raise public awareness. For instance, this is extremely important particularly when these campaigns are implemented in educational institution, which means children will study to be more kinder to environment in a young age and end up protecting enviroment in later in life. More improtantly, political leaders should introduce laws to encourage public transport. To illustrate, this is highly beneficial for those who have to travel long distance from home and workplace, and avoid traffic jam on rush hour.

In conclusion, while raising in fuel cost might be a useful stopgap measure, I believe that the goverments have an even greater solution to tackle environmental problems. It is thus hoped that improving the efficiency of public transport and raising awareness of evironmental protecting are better alternative outcomes.