People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is undeniable that environmental problems have always been a controversial topic for all citizens around the world. Many people believe one solution to this would be for the government to raise the price of petrol. While I agree with this opinion, I also think that there are other solutions to improve the quality of the environment.

On the one hand, national authorities play a vital role in environmental issues. What I mean is that the rise in petrol prices may lead to less consumption of car owners and motor drivers. Therefore, the government should take action in improving and expanding public transport provision to encourage and enhance the use of public transportation, as many people still need to travel to work, to school or to hospitals. Moreover, from the perspective of freight services, more goods would have to be transported by rail rather than by truck. Both these measures would cut down the emissions from vehicles and help to reduce the greenhouse effect.

On the other hand, some other solutions can be taken into account which would be more effective in the long term to tackle environmental issues. The local authorities in Vietnam, for instance, has imposed some new regulations to strictly control the driving test. What’s more, the government can support more environmentally friendly transports like using electronic cars, motorbikes or bicycles. As a result, the air quality can be improved because of the reduction of exhaust fumes.

In conclusion, although an increase in the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles would be a useful measure to improve the environment, other solutions should also be