People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

There are at least two major reasons why people nowadays have to confront serious risks no matter when they are. Firstly, the unemployment and the widening gap between the rich and the poor are crucial factors behind the rising crime rate in many nations, hence citizens have to be watchful all the time even when they stay at home. Vietnam, for instance, has recently seen a significant increase in the number of people turning to crime such as burglary and robbery in order to survive. Secondly, when being out on the streets, everyone is aware of the dangers stemming from the dramatic increase in traffic. For example, the Global status report on road safety 2015 by the World Health Organization showed that around 1.25 million people worldwide die each year as a result of road traffic crashes.

To solve these aforementioned problems, some measures should be implemented. The first measure would be to provide more job training programs to help people out of poverty and into employment, so the need to steal from others would be reduced and the public would feel safer. Additionally, it is necessary to install surveillance cameras on trains and buses and along main roads because if there is a close and regular supervision in traffic, everyone who uses the roads will strictly obey traffic laws, thus the frequency of traffic accidents would be reduced in the long-term.