People today rarely interact with their neighbors, and this is having a harmful effect on local communities.

What are the possible causes of this trend?

What can be done to address it?

Community life has transformed significantly over the years. Unlike in the past, people nowadays rarely interact with their neighbors for obvious reasons. However, finding a solution to this problem can be tricky.

One of the reasons for a dramatic decline in interactions among neighbors is the sense of anonymity. In other words, most people, migrating to urban areas in search of a better life, rent apartments, and barely get to know the people living in the neighborhood. They, however, with the help of technology continue to keep in touch with friends and neighbors from their hometowns. This brings us to our second reason: technology. Now people spend more time socializing in the virtual world via social networking websites such as Facebook or Instagram. Apart from this, in developed countries watching TV, in particular Netflix, has reportedly gained more popularity, taking a large chunk of people’s free time.

There are a number of ways that have been suggested to boost interaction between neighbors. One such way is to organize community events such as volunteering to help build a local library or picnic in the local park. Such events are a sure way to help people get to know their neighbors. Another, perhaps, even a better solution can lie with technology, once believed to be the main culprit. A new social networking site, Nextdoor, is just like Facebook, but it helps its users to establish connections with their neighbors, instead of existing friends over a long distance. As of 2015, people from hundreds of communities across the United States were on Nextdoor, and this number is bound to increase if this project goes global.

To sum up, while urbanization and technology are the main contributory factors, the latter can be the most effective solution to reverse this trend.