People used to live in the same city throughout their lives, but now they change where they live several times. What is the cause? Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

In contemporary society, people are inclined to relocate their living places for various times, in contrast to the past when residents lived stably in same urban areas during their lives. This essay will present an overview of causes and potential effects to this phenomenon.

Firstly, economic disparity between major cities and smaller cities is widely perceived as the main reason. Nowadays, many demographic studies have shown that although it is invisible, unbalanced economic growth has encouraged rural citizens to move to metropolises and developing cities, which is a stepping-stone to bright career paths. For example, many workers have chosen to leave their motherlands and migrate to cities with prosperous economies and plentiful job sources for more employment opportunities and higher incomes. Secondly, another factor that has added fuel to the fire is the ever-growing population. According to researches, the growth of population is accompanied by the high demand for living conditions. As a result, people tend to move to new modern places where they can have access to larger open space and better facilities.

In evaluating its impact, it is important to take potential consequences on family and society into account. From economic perspective, the job market will become more competitive because of the sharp growth in applicants, which impacts on the sustainability of macro-economic performance . From the view of family unity, families where childrens migrate to other places in search of better jobs are increasingly popular, ideological conflicts and gap generations are common between parents and childrens. As a result, they seldom have bonding time to build good rapports.

In conclusion, economic inequality and the growing population are the main reasons, which have negative influences on society and family as mentioned above.