People who read of pleasure have better imagination and language skills than those who prefer watching TV. To what extent do you agree?

There has been many opinion saying that reading does better in enhancing our imagination and linguistic abilities than TV programs. To a certain extent, I agree with this statement, but I also believe that TV shows play a vital role in developing our cognitive skills as well.

It is true that reading greatly enhance our knowledge and imagination. By reading various types of books such as adventure, thriller, fiction, and so on, our mind will be exposed to many new and intriguing things that stimulate our imagination and boost our creativity. On the one hand, books and articles include a diversity of formal words and expressions and furthermore, convey the author's attitudes and feelings. So by reading those written words people can improve their literacy and express their own ideas and feelings better.

On the other side, we must admit that watching TV contributes a lot to our mind and language as well. TV provide various kinds of programs that are illustrated specifically thus gives us a better understanding on the content. Watching appealing and educational channels like National Geographic or Discovery we can not only gain knowledge but also find joy and relax while watching, instead of stretching our mind trying to understand the ideas from a forest of words. Meanwhile, we can learn languages from watching TV as well. There are a variety of channels providing numerous learning materials which help linguistic learners to develop their listening and speaking skills effectively.

In conclusion, I believe that both reading and watching TV have significant impacts on people's creativity and language. That said, it is crucial to take these activities seriously so that we can take full advantages of them.