A person worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values such as honor, kindness, and trust no longer seem important.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the only important thing to judge the people’s value is the amount of money a person has. I totally disagree with this idea. This essay will discuss that the traditional values such as integrity and honesty play an important role to evaluate the personality of human.

Even though, there is no doubt that respect towards richer people has increased in the last few decades, it is not mean old fashioned values like honor, kindness and honesty are dying. The job status and material possession are not the only thing to respect people . For instance, I have neighbor who possesses all the luxuries of life but almost no one from my society has dealing with him, just because he has been to jail numbers of time in some criminal cases. This proves people still value character and morality more than money.

Although traditional values such as respect others, being responsible, honesty and integrity seem to be forgotten, but they still play an important part in many communities. For example, in common cases, employers are still assessing their potential employees based their hard working attitude, positive behavior and their integrity. Furthermore, business people are still looking for business partners who are reliable, can be trusted, and dependable. Therefore, it is important for adults to educate their children about these positive values because they still play an essential part in the societies.

In conclusion, it is easy to find many people running after materialism, but I assert a lot of other people are aware that material does not help on a long-term basis, and so that they give priority to an individual's personality, character or ethical values.