The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, personal information and data is a publicized and widely concerned issue. While it is true that these private materials should be kept by large internet cooperation and enterprises, I would argue that the downsides of it are far outweighing the merit.

On the one hand, several individuals think that personal materials should belong to companies’ ownership due to numerous reasons. Firstly, this could help enterprise owners manage their staff efficiently as well as trace their background if necessary. Therefore, every applicant has to send their CVs which include everything about themselves to the HR department when first joining any organization. Another cause for this is the issue regarding to education and training qualification of employees. It is common knowledge that each position has its own criteria and career requirements for applicants, which means that their background information should be held to considered thoroughly before officially accepted to that job. Once they are turned down for that position or no longer work for that company, these personal data, of course, be given back to that person.

On the other hand, I strongly contend that personal information should be kept in secret. Firstly, not all citizens prefer their personal contact details or family background widespread online. This means that almost virtual Internet users can access their secured data, which is potential harm to themselves and their families. Several online fraudulent appropriations of assets happen due to the endless information posed on Internet platforms, remaining a huge amount of debt. Furthermore, once contact numbers or emails are revealed online, many owners of those are threatened by trash calls and messages, which causes constant stress and uncomfortable to them. For instance, illegal banks or credit funds make hundreds of calls on a daily basis despite being blocked, which is not only a source of tension but also a way of persuading underprivileged people to borrow money from them with the huge interest trade.

Over the past decade, the fact that personal materials appear widespread online is a hot debate and gets a critical concern. While some people think that this phenomenon holds a great variety of benefits, I firmly believe that the downturn is far more dominating.