Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Water pollution is one of the major concern among the environmentalist for a long time. People who are aware of the consequences of destroying river and lake, are raising their voices for the sake of the environmental protection in order to sustainable animal and human life. Nonetheless, respective governments of the countries and world leaders are attending environmental summits where major focus is on the reduction of greenhouse emissions, pollution of water in river, lakes and seas is not getting enough priority.

There are various causes have been identified that are responsible for water pollution in major water reservoirs in the earth. Industrial wastes is the most improtant source that scientists blamed for the destruction of water sources. Wastes from the industries, particularly the chemical waste and solid wastes. that are drained to the nearby river and lakes which ultimately run into the sea. This situation is more worse in poor and developing countries where due to the lak of people's awareness and education over the consequences of their acts and water pollution, people and their governement don't bother about it. Though, there are government policy in place, but they never been in implementaion. Environmentalists are also quite suppressed due to autocratic government activities. Because of the symbiotic relationship between governments and businessmans, general people's concern and opinions are largely overlooked.

Another important factor rsponsible for polluting water is the plastic. Since the modern lifestyles and business world are largely dependant on plastic use, they are thrown carelessly elesewhere, particularly in the third world countries where peoples awareness is nearly zero level. Problem with the plastic is that it is not pershable and remain intact for a long period of time which ultimately drained through river and lake water and mixes to sea water. Consequently, both lastics and other pollutants waved throughout the sea water and travels around the world destroying the sea water ecology.

Additionally, poor sewage system and unsanitary toilet system in the poor and many developing countries is one of the major reason for the water pollution. Morever, destruction of large ships or leakage of oil carrier cargo ships in the sea results considerable amount of water pollution.

There are two major effects of water pollution can be discussed which are prominantly affecting both animal and human life. Chemical wates and human bilogical wastes mixing in the water causing it unsafe for animal and human consumption. Drinking this water may results in severe health issues. Moreover, chemicals in the sea water is responsible for the destruction of normal sea water environment which makes the sea world a rather uncomfortable place for the sea creatures.

Plastics causing more serious effect on the living of sea animals. Many recent evidences suggest that both micro and macroplastics are destryoing various sea animals health, causing increased mortality that ultimately may lead to extinction of many species. Microplastics is also making the food chain unsafe for human consumption. Fish are consuming microplastics which are reaching human diet and resulting many chronic diseases like cancers.