Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.

What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water pollution is a major concern among environmentalists. This essay discusses some of the main reasons and their impacts on wildlife species and human society.

There are two fundamental factors responsible for contamination in rivers, lakes, or seas. Firstly, there is a huge amount of effluent and litter dumped into the streams and waterways. In particular, untreated sewage, and household waste disposed of by local residents dramatically pollutes the currents and groundwater. For example, plastic waste which takes a hundred years to decompose can cause sewage blockages, follow water flowing into the ocean and it will accumulate on the seabed. Besides, the unprocessed domestic wastes discharged into rivers and seas causes these places to become severely polluted. Another element leading to pollution is chemical substances from fertilizers and pesticides used in agriculture. These toxins infect the underground water flows and then spread over rivers, lakes, and the ocean.

Some fundamental consequences can be recognized as this issue continues. Firstly, water pollution could cause the extinction of wildlife. For example, aquatic species could digest poisonous materials, rubbish in the sea could obscure the vision of fish, hindering their hunting ability. This could result in a gradual decline in the number of aquatic animals. Moreover, the influence on human beings is extremely grave. Inhabitants residing near polluted rivers or lakes have a high risk of contracting fatal diseases such as cancer due to food from water that is poisoned. [Therefore, social health would deteriorate quickly and efforts to discover treatments are highly requested while the expenses on this are enormous.

In conclusion, the main problems stem from wastes, effluent poured into watercourses, and chemical pollutants. As a result, the damage has been colossal. This can lead to detrimental effects including the rapid disappearance of aquatic animals as well as people’s health.