Some people think that in the modern world we have become more dependent on each other, while others think that people are now more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is debated that today our life is more dependent on the people around us. However, I believe that this developed era makes humans become more independent compared to the past.

There are several reasons why people become reliant on the modern world. Firstly, life is more difficult and expensive, and we are less self-sufficient. When life expenses are increasing considerably, we fall into imbalance and need others’ support. For example, the unemployed and the underprivileged cannot afford their daily necessities when all items’ costs are extravagant, they must rely on other people such as relatives, friends, and state subsidization. Children need their parents’ money and love to survive and school. Secondly, our jobs are much more specialized, and we need to work in teams. The more economic development, the tasks are more complicated that an individual cannot handle. We have to allocate work to many people to make the job accomplished. Hence, we are dependent on other people at work and in life.

Despite the above argument, I believe that we are more self-reliant and may be dependent on other things rather than other people. Firstly, with technological outbreaks, there is a number of advanced machines devised which can carry out a lot of crucial tasks with high accuracy. Human participation is unnecessary in many circumstances, we just depend on devices and equipment. In addition, families are more dispersed, therefore providing less support to members. Moreover, children are well educated enough to be more independent. They like to lead a free lifestyle and become more assertive rather than put their life in others’ hands. So, I think that we have more chances to self-support and live on our terms in this modern society.

In conclusion, it is inevitable that people living on this planet have a bond with each other in all aspects of life, but the social-economic burgeoning helps us become more independent from others.