Every four years, the whole world experiences International Sporting Events such as the Olympics and Football World Cup in which the participants show their best performances to make their country proud. From my point of view, I agree that these events are considered as an optimal way to express emotional patriotism and lessen international tension by the following reasons.

To begin with, participating in international events, athletics prove the patriotic feelings through their performance. The world competition is extremely vying, they literally spend their whole lives training to get the highest reward, to become the championer. In the football match, some of the players have fallen down, dislocated and even broken legs. Besides that, sporting events can be an exceptional measure for people to show love to one’s country. For example, in the tournaments of football or cricket, people enjoy cheering for their country’s team, and share their feelings of happiness for their country.

Second, it assists to reduce tension among countries when sporting events replace wars. Their national sport team members are considered as soldiers since they are the representatives of their countries. In the past, countries used to show strength and power by starting wars and battling while in the present, athletes from various nations are competing against each other in a sportive way.

To sum up, I do believe that sporting occasions like the World Football Cup helps not only to ease tensions amongst countries, but also to help citizens freely express themselves in a harmless way.