Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some prevalent leisure activities are trendy but not enduring, and they do not demonstrate the endeavors of people. There are good arguments both for and against this view, but I believe it depends on different reasons.

On the one hand, I completely concur with the idea that there is a number of fashionable interests which do not continue in the long-run. First, imitating the fashion of celebrities gain popularity in the young generation rather than the elderly. For those who are older, they have are prone to bear more burden of finance, and thus, are less likely to be interested in fashion. Also, their hobbies might change into healthy activities such as going to the gymnasium or doing yoga. Second, aping the fashionable trend merely reflects the feeling of desire to fit in the community. Many individuals aspire to be considered as stylish people rather than unfashionable, which might contribute to their confidence. After the trend went away, they are deemed to continue pursuing the latest tendency.

On the other hand, I believe that for some individuals there are several prevalent interests are still lifelong. The first prominent justification is that healthy activities, including playing sports and eating vegetables as well, play a pivotal role in maintaining decent mental and physical health. In other words, these hobbies are indispensable for our lifestyle, and thus, are might be maintained in the long term. Furthermore, there are some pleasures which belong to the inherent interests and stem from individual personality traits. These types of leisure hobbies could be kept for a long time. Doing garden or even collecting, for instance, are two of the most prevalent pastimes people often have.

In conclusion, while the reasons can be given to justify that the prevalent leisure activities illustrate the latest tendencies and styles rather than long-lasting interests, I believe this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.