At the present time, most people do not seem to lead healthy lifestyles. What are the reasons and how can we solve these problems?

Recently, the issue of unhealthy lifestyles has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as over-consumption of fast food, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, including educating about healthy eating habits. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend and present some solutions to the problem.

There do seem to be numerous causes underlying this phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause is that the majority of working adults often eat junk food that contains high fat and sugar in order to meet a deadline at the workplace. This is partly because a multitude of large companies have a predisposition to force employees to deal with a heavy workload in a fiercely competitive society, which deprives them of a chance to spend enough time having lunch. Another fundamental cause is that

a large number of people have difficulty participating in physical activities that help them let off steam considering that there are a multitude of leisure activities available in this technologically-advanced era, such as playing online games and watching video clips on Youtube.

There are, however, several courses of action that both the government and individuals could take to address the root cause of the problem. The most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the dangers of a lack of consuming wholesome food and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. For example, the UK recently lobbied their citizens to eat five portions of fruits and vegetables per day and this resulted in a dramatic decrease in the obesity rate. A second feasible solution would be for the masses to take exercise on a regular basis, making it possible for them to have an improved quality of their physical and mental well-being.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from various causes suggested above and can be tackled with a variety of steps. If every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.