At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.
Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?
For most people, when they get their first job they have little
idea whether or not they will remain in the same organisation
throughout their working life. if they decide to change, they
need to consider how this will impact on their career overall.
People who stay with the same organisation have the
advantage ol thoroughly understanding how it works and also becoming familiar with the staff and processes. if they
work hard, their promotion prospects are good and there is
likely to be greater job security, with the promise of a good
pension when they retire. employers value loyalty and may
offer additional incentives to long-term employees, including
bonuses and reward schemes.
However, one of the drawbacks of staying with the same
organisation is that the person may get stuck doing the same
job year after year. In some cases, this can lead to boredom
and disillusionment. Moving from one organisation to another
can be a strategic decision in order to have variety and acquire
a range of skills and experience. A friend of my father started
out as a sociology teacher, he then joined the Social Services
and is currently managing a care home in Western Australia.
this has made him incredibly knowledgeable in a range of
related fields and, in my view, has provided him with a much
more interesting working life.
Although there are benefits to working lor one organisation,
I feel that it is also valuable for an employee to be able to
offer a wide range of experience having worked for different
companies. As long as it is planned carefully, I feel that change is
good and will ultimately benefit the employee and the employer.