With the pressure on today’s young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: P.E and cookery) should be removed from syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our society today, there is a popular stereotype that students who score high grades in academic are more likely to be successful in future career. Therefore, some people believe that non-academic subjects having no value to the intellect of child’s mind should be eliminated from school curriculum. Personally, I totally disagree with their point of view.

The first reason of this is because non-academic activities like dance, cookery or P.E no longer cause stress but provide relaxation to the pupils. Moreover, these genres of subjects bring students a whale of time and an opportunity to refresh themselves and then overcome the performance pressure imposed by parents and teachers. According to recent research, scientists said that vocational subjects at school had a considerable contribution in improving concentration of children on academic ones.

In addition, I also think that practical subjects will open up a new path for the future career of student. It stands to reason that not all students are academically brilliant. For example, instead of being good at Math or Literature, they have special talent in areas such as singing or dancing. By encouraging student to engage in non-academic subjects, school can bring out their hidden ability as well as giving facilities for them to pursue their interests. After all, besides a doctor or scientists graduating with flying colors, our society also needs athletes, writers, chefs to function effectively.

In conclusion, there is no point in removing non-academic subjects from school curriculum. Instead, I believe that school should designate these subject as optional items so that student can pursue career in a field of their choice.