"Prevention is better than cure." Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree.

One of the most controversial issues today relates to health maintenance. I strongly agree that people in this generation should be aware of their wellness and adhering to preventive measures is the primary choice. In this essay, I am going to examine this statement and explain on why prevention is better than cure from my point of view.

On one side of the argument, it is an indisputable fact that a person having a chronic illness may cost a large amount to deal with. Hospital admission bills, laboratory, MRI and CT Scans are few of the expenses a person could undergo once a disease was acquired. I think that the benefits of preventive healthcare considerably outweigh the disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is it does not only obviate the sickness but it can also maintain and increase a person’s well-being. It is also possible to say that the government investing on this programs can increase economy’s growth by cutting off extra subsidies for insurance and extensive researches. One good illustration of this are herbal medicines which are organic and cheap.

On the other side of the argument, it is also possible to make the opposing case. Although it is guaranteed to be too costly, it is often believed that the incessant research can help the people to better understand the pathology of the disease and provide accurate cure in the future. It is often argued in the third world countries whether it is a great investment or not because in fact in the USA they had found answers to cure HIV. A second point is that, not everyone can be compelled by the government to take measures on health. Others can be opinionated and stubborn and most likely would not take chances on exercising and taking herbal medicines. A particularly good example here are the Americans. Most of the population are too busy to comply with the health programs neither are adamant on the value of research and medical technology.

In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that taking necessary actions to avoid sickness does not only keep you away from the danger of the disease but can also increase your well-being.