prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. however, a more effective solution is provide people a better education. do you agree or disagree

Some people argue that the decrease of crime rates would be achieved more effectively by better education than prison sentences. In my opinion, I disagree with this point of view owing to these two approaches have their own distinct merits.

On the one hand, the reasons why prison are of necessity for reduction of crimes are varied. They are the place for people who have broken the law and ensuring safety for other citizens. Firstly, prison sentences act as a deterrent against crimes because it helps people to be aware of serious consequences of committing crimes. For example, criminals would face losing freedom, separation from loved family members, social isolation and such people will live in a miserable life in a cell and they even might lose chance to get jobs after releasing back into society. If people who are having intention of committing crimes are aware of these things may reconsider about breaking the laws. Secondly, if serious offenders are behind bars, the no longer pose a threat to community especially serial killers, murderers and rapists. These people may tend to reoffend so if they were given the life imprisonment, law-abiding inhabitants could be protected.

On the other hand, I am the opinion that educational methods also have a complementary role to play in reducing incidence of crime. Firstly, developed education heightens people’s intellect and forming a civilized society. Besides, if students were taught basic knowledge of law so that they would be well-formed about the damage of committing crimes cause to their community and they could avoid situations which may involve in crimes or making them become a victim. For example, there are many cases where drug traffickers take advantage of people’s lack of knowledge to help carrying bags which contain cocaine. Secondly, it is also necessary to have educational programs in prison such as vocational training so that offenders could gain more experiences and skills which allow them get jobs after releasing back into the community.

In conclusion, I believe that there is no absolute way to evaluate whether imprisonment or better education take the dominant role in addressing with crimes as they both have a significant role.