Prison is the only truly effective form of punishment, because it separates criminals from society. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Legal punishment continues to be controversial, as we are aiming for a society of modernity and equality. Some people believe that imprisonment is the most essential because it keeps dangerous individual isolated. However, I personally disagree with the statement, and I will explain why.

First of all, detention sometimes does more harm than good. For example, when kept in jail, individuals tend to be influenced by other inmates, thus learn toxic mindset from them. This results in which former criminals are likely to commit more crime after being released. Furthermore, while not all crime are severe and repetitive, such as first-time pickpocket, either educational or economic punishment appears to be the better option. For instance, social service participation let troublemakers understand how they can contribute to the community and even receive wages in turn. Meanwhile, fine increase government budget, which helpfully supports urban infrastructure improvement.

Finally, while imprisonment have some unexpected effects which I have mentioned, it emerges as a terrible selection to punish juvenile delinquents as well as people with psychiatric disorders. Being detained, these people can become victims of violence and sexual abuse, since there is usally little supervision for in-room relationship in jail. Besides, rebelious behaviours in teenagers mostly stem from social media reflection and poorly self-awareness. So, instead of arresting them, we should use a more educational method.

Of course, this is not to say that prison is unnecessary, because some evils are unforgivable so they deserve lifetime imprisonment, or even worse, execution. However, I strongly believe that many detentions can be altered by better punishments, as long as they are beneficial for not only individuals but also society.