Psychological causes of internet addiction

With the rapid development of technology, the ways in which children engage in their entertainment has tremendously changed. Besides traditional games, the majority of children are indulging in online games to such an extent that they ignore their schoolwork and family obligations. To delve deeply into this issue, this essay will explore the causes of children’s addiction to online games and provide feasible solutions to this problem.

In fact, this disturbing phenomenon is closely associated with an urge to cope with loneliness. Three-fourths of U.S. children surveyed said that they turn to gaming as an outlet for negative feelings including psychological distress resulting from the absence of parental care and peer support. For example, parents who work around the clock might find it hard to give children their care and undivided attention. Without emotional support that comes from parental companion, children are usually engulfed by a feeling of emptiness with their lives continually interrupted by spurts of anxiety and desperation. This fear of abandonment is further exacerbated by poor peer relationship. Introverted children, as evidenced in a recent psychological study, are victimized by a double whammy of parental neglect and peer isolation. However, online games fill the gap of interpersonal relationship, providing lonely and shy children with an emotional shelter which helps relieve children’s stress and acts as their virtual friends.

Academic stress is another reason for a spike in children’s online addiction. Due to the fact that not everyone has the gift of learning, some children have lower academic performance than others inevitably. Children who do not excel at academic courses will find it hard to get a sense of achievement and glory. Thereby, they will try to escape reality and gain self-recognition from virtual online games. For instance, online games have an explicit reward system from which children can gain esteem and admiration after they complete their mission in online games. And this emotional recognition is almost impossible in real life.

This problem rampant in our society could be addressed by two ways. Re-emphasizing family values is the most efficient strategy to curb online addition. Parents should strike a balance between work and family commitments. In order to keep children’s mental health, it is parents’ obligations to set a fixed time to do some interactive activities and communicate with their children. Another approach that we can adopt is to emphasize the all-round development of students. Therefore, schools and parents need to reduce their excessive attention on the ranking system of academic performance, which will shatter the confidence of low academic achievers. Students will gain a sense of accomplishment if they do something which they excel at.

In conclusion, children’s addition to online games is a complex problem that affects a lot of people nowadays. There is no single cause of this global crisis, but children’s loneliness and academic stress are two main contributors to this problem.