Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs.

When it comes to public libraries, books are the first things that appear in our minds and many people believe that limited resources and space should not be wasted on providing hi-tech media. However, from my perspective, in an information age, it is crucial to change the traditional way of getting information.

On the one hand, providing hi-tech media in public libraries brings us so many benefits. The first point to note is that it brings multiple accesses. For instance, there is usually only one book but many people want to read it. With the help of e-books, the problem is unfolded easily. This solution also works with videos or DVDs. In addition, using videos is a more effective way to gain information or knowledge. We can really watch how it is happening, not just imagine from emotionless words. Moreover, spending times looking for the book you want and then carry them is not really a good choice. By contrast, all you have to do is sit at a computer, put your DVDs in or choose which book to read.

Nevertheless, there are still some disadvantages of information technology. First is physical problems. Reading books or watching videos on hi-tech devices requires a large amount of time and this may weaken our eyes’ sights. Also, there are questionable contents which may be unfiltered yet.

In conclusion, I believe that with hi-tech media in public libraries, obtaining information will be much easier. The important thing is we all have to learn to take advantage of IT correctly.