By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The death penalty is one of the punishment methods and it commits another crime. Thus, life in prison appears to be the most effective punishments. Even though I agree with the death penalty is committing of a crime, the life in prison is not the most effective punishment, because the current prison systems are not effective. Hence, we should look for other alternative method to punish those criminals.

The death penalty could be the most effective way to reduce crime rates; however I believe this is not the case, because there are various ways to punish criminals such as life in sentences, serving the prison working hours and helping with local community works. The victim’s relatives could get the feeling of relief and satisfaction of the death penalty for murderers, but this will not bring victim backs to a life and this is a short term gratification. Therefore, people can look for other alternative methods instead of looking for the short term gratification by killing murderers,.

One of those alternative methods is the life sentence in prison, but due to the malfunction of current systems in prison, this is no longer suitable. The main purpose of prison is educating and acknowledging criminals’ wrong doing behaviours which to be socially acceptable by having regrettable minds. However, the current prison systems are too luxurious to fade its original purposes. Currently, all prisoners are served in luxurious facilities (clean rooms, shower booths and bed sheets) with roommates for comfort living styles. Thus, life in prison cannot be the most suitable method to punish criminals.

Since all the methods are currently available do not suit for punishing criminals, people should create a new form of systems under some criteria, which should bound by; the purpose of punish criminals are educational and the nature of punishment should not violation of current laws. For example, since the death penalty violates the current existing laws of killing a person, this is not suitable under these criteria. People have invented with new criminal laws and by frequently updated, I believe we can create suitable punishment systems that could fit the criteria of punishment.

In conclusion, due to the violation of criminal laws, the capital punishment is not the effective punishment and the life in prison will be the same for the malfunction with the current prison systems. Therefore, the most suitable and effective approaches should be sought by the responsibilities for everyone.