Q 15. Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether remote learning is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to receiving tertiary education on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that university and college students benefit a great deal from taking online lectures do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way students attend classes anywhere with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, distance education does not deprive students of time devoted to commuting to and from school, making it possible for them to focus more on their studies.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that earning a bachelor's or a master's degree by learning online merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that online classes prevent students from getting instant feedback from their professors, leading them to have difficulty revising for the exam. In other words, a multitude of students are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their major, which can even exert a negative influence on their academic performance. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their classmates as well as senior students who help them to develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future careers. To be more specific, mingling with others at university enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of earning certificates from remote education surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.