Q1. Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree

ecently, the issue of converting green spaces into residential areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities, such as gardens and parks, near the central area of the city by residential buildings in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly amenities close to the city centre so as to erect housing estates do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks makes it possible for working adults to take a rest helping them unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for green places for workers, they would have difficulty alleviating the level of stress, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute skyscrapers that can accommodate numerous citizens for eco-friendly places close to the city business district. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a multitude of employees residing near the city centre travel to their workplace by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to experience traffic congestion, contributing to an increase in the quality of life. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would decrease remarkably. Moreover, depriving working people of less time dedicated to travel to work allows them to focus more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green areas near the CBD and establishing apartment blocks are necessary for the reasons discussed above.