Q10: Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution to these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to handle environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that technology allows human beings to cope with environmental problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having a simpler way of life can alleviate the level of environmental concerns do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that with the advent of personal vehicles, a multitude of individuals drive cars, operated by fossil fuels, emitting a huge amount of CO2, which leads to global warming as well as climate change. In addition, numerous goods made of non-disposable plastic are consumed by a myriad of people poses a threat to the environment. Given these points, some people hold the view that changing our lifestyle into a simpler way, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport, can ease these environmental problems.

My opinion, however, is that mankind should make use of technology in order to combat contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that a great number of large companies invest astronomical sums of money in developing the way to utilise renewable energy, including electricity, lessening environmental issues. As an illustration, Tesla which is a notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release cars using electricity as an energy source with the help of technological progress. These cars are able to ameliorate the quality of air because they do not generate carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the majority of developed countries have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other stations run by alternative energy, such as tidal power and solar power owing to up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the advancement of technology helps humans devise solutions to environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.