Q1: Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Recently, the conversion of green spaces near the central area of the city into residential buildings has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities close to the city centre by housing estates in order to reduce the time dedicated to commuting to work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove green areas, such as gardens and parks, around the central business district do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having parks and gardens enables employees to take a rest helping them to unwind during their lunchtime. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for gardens and parks near the city centre, a large number of workers would have difficulty alleviating stress, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating traffic congestion to transform environment-friendly amenities close to the central area of the city into a myriad of apartment blocks. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a multitude of working people residing near the central business district commuted to and from their workplace by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from heavy traffic jams, making it possible for the public to have an improved standard of living. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decreased. Moreover, depriving commuters of less time devoted to travelling to work would allow them to concentrate more on their duties, helping them to build successful careers at their workplace. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that substituting apartment complexes for environmentally friendly amenities near the central business district is necessary for the reasons discussed above.