Q9. With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

Recently the issue of resources has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to developing untouched land in order to produce fossil fuels, such as crude oil and gas, these are exceeded by the advantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that devotion to gaining fossil fuels should be discouraged do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the construction of a multitude of facilities helping developers to produce fossil fuels results in environmental degradation. To be more specific, a large number of natural habitats that play a vital role in the ecosystem can be destructed, which can even exert a detrimental influence on human beings who are on the top of food chains. In addition, exploiting natural land in a bid to secure fossil fuels accelerates the speed of global warming giving rise to climate change that hinders people from leading a high quality of life.

My opinion, however, is that mankind should try to obtain fossil fuels by developing undamaged land. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that fossil fuels are economical given that generating renewable energy sources, such as tidal power and solar power, costs a fortune. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to create fossil fuels, humans would be more likely to suffer from a lack of resources that can prevent people from facilitating various aspects of our life, from driving personal vehicles to operating businesses. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of using natural spaces to acquire energy sources surpass the drawbacks for the reasons discussed above.