Q13 Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently the question of what factors can contribute to success in life has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that dedication to work plays a key role in succeeding in one's life, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that individuals' success is determined by wealth and appearance do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that not only can people from wealthy families establish their own businesses with greater ease, but they are also able to invest a vast sum of money in the stock market. To be more specific, these people can easily have a chance to earn astronomical amount of money enabling them to have an improved standard of living. In addition, a numerous celebrities, such as movie stars and fashion models, benefit a great deal from their appearance in modern society given that they are easily capable of obtain fortunes and fame thanks to their appearance with the development of mass media .

My opinion, however, is that work commitments are more directly related to having a high quality of life. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that working people spending huge amounts of time and energy on their occupations are more likely to become promoted to a high position at the workplace. As an illustration, although Kim Ki-Hun from South Korea who was born and raised in a poor area suffered from poverty in his childhood, he became a vice president in Samsung with the help of work commitments. In addition, workers who are passionate about their jobs can develop invaluable skills and acquire knowledge related to their duties, exerting a positive influence on their future careers. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that commitments to work enable ordinary people to live a better life for the reasons discussed above.