Q14 Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of what factors can contribute to individuals' success has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that devotion to work allows people to live a better life rather than money and appearance, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that fortunes and appearance are directly related to having an improved standard of living do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that people from wealthy families are capable of gaining opportunities not only to receive better education but also to operate their own businesses. Moreover, some of them are able to invest vast sums of money in the stock market, which could enable them to earn an astronomical amount of money. Furthermore, there are a multitude of celebrities who benefit a great deal from their appearance in modern society. To be more specific, influencers, such as fashion models and movie stars, achieve fame as well as wealth owing to their appearance with the development of mass media.

My opinion, however, is that dedication to work makes it possible for employees to have a high quality of life. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that working people spending huge amounts of time and energy on their occupations are more likely to become promoted to a high position at the workplace. As an illustration, although Kim Ki-Hun from South Korea who was born and raised in a poor area suffered from poverty in his childhood, he became a vice president in Samsung with the help of work commitments. In addition, workers who are passionate about their jobs can develop invaluable skills and acquire knowledge related to their duties, exerting a positive influence on their future careers. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that commitments to work help ordinary people to live a better life for the reasons discussed above.