Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, an increase in crime has become the subject of heated debate. young people who commit offences should be treated differently from adults who perpetrate the same crimes, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that juvenile delinquents should be penalized as harshly as adults do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that youngsters need to learn that their actions have consequences and they also need to learn that illegal behaviour will not be tolerated. To provide a hypothetical example, if other impressionable people witnessed their peers receiving punishment for unlawful activities, they would be less likely to perpetrate crimes that may lead them to be incarcerated in jail. This means that harsh punishment could act as a deterrent. Given these points, some people hold the view that punishing young criminals in the same way as adults is necessary.

My opinion, however, is that teenage criminals should not receive the same penalties as adult criminals. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that the youth are generally less able to distinguish between right and wrong than adults. Thus, obliging young criminals to take the same responsibility for their crimes as adult is unfair. Another convincing reason is that adolescents should deserve to have a chance to change and become law-abiding citizens. If they are punished severely, then this opportunity might be lost and they might enter into a life of crime, which exerts a detrimental influence on our society. Therefore, other methods as punishment, such as vocational training and community service, should be imposed on young offenders in order to help them reintegrate back into society. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that depriving youngsters of opportunities to reflect on their crimes by inflicting the same punishment on them as adults should be discouraged for the reasons discussed above.