Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Committing a crime is a serious offense for which the perpetrators must be punished. Because the rate of juvenile crime is on the rise these days, some argue that young people should be punished in the same way as adults. Even though young people make mistakes, I believe their punishments should be less severe than those meted out to adults.

It is incorrect to say that the youth are virtually innocent because they are elated, immature, and unaware of the consequences of their actions if they use that reason to justify killing and swindling. Young criminals who appear to take advantage of the fact that they are not old enough to be punished by the law then commit crimes cannot be forgiven. They believe that by doing so, they will be able to avoid being sentenced or even get away with it.

Nonetheless, each decision should be made in light of their age. If the government imposes the most severe penalties, such as life in prison and death, It has the potential to destroy the youth, as well as those who have committed crimes, because they will not be able to undo what they have done. It is possible that this will have a negative impact on the country. To reduce the rate of crime, we should make other changes, such as better education and increased awareness. Assisting them in recognizing what is good and what is bad in order to help them have a better future. Furthermore, if they committed a crime, we can give them a second chance, allowing them to renovate and transform into a better person, which is preferable to harsh punishments that can destroy their lives.

With that said, I believe they should be punished, but not in the same way that adults are.