Some people believe that young people who commit serious crimes should be punished in the same way as adults.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a prevalent idea among the segment of society that the degree of punishment for juvenile miscreants should not lag behind that for adults. I am a firm believer of the notion that the sentence for people must be commensurate with their ages.

First of all, the life experience is one of the reasons why the court must treat the young differently. In other words, as a person grows up, he or she goes through various vicissitudes of life eventually gaining wisdom, which, in fact, changes their response to different life events. Committing crime is also a kind of personal response which simply does not meet society's moral standards. Thus, Young people most of which are imprudent as a consequence of lacking intellectual capacity may commit an offence without thinking about the possible outcomes of the action. Adults, on the other hand, are expected to behave more wisely, since they have enough moral capacity to aware of the seriousness of criminal behaviors. Hence, this particular example shows why two mentioned groups must be tried in different courts.

Secondly, giving young offenders sentence being tantamount to that for adults may prevent their successful rehabilitation. Considering the statement in detail, it can undeniably be accepted that most of the criminals reoffend following the release from prison because they barely find a chance to get rehabilitated. However, children are the ones who most deserve rehabilitation and life lessons as they are inexperienced. Consequently, enhancing not only their understanding in morality but also education, and skills can lead them to bright future.

To conclude, the opinion that juvenile and adult culprits should be punished equivalently is proposed by some. However, I am a strong advocate of the idea that mild punishment for young people is more favorable solution as their imprudence require serious rehabilitation to avert recidivism.