Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and effects of this trend?

According to studies, in retrospect, youngsters did not spend much more amount of time on watching TV as in these days. Moreover, they are not interested in doing active and creative activities. To address this trend, there are several causes, and effects, which will be discussed in this essay.

Firstly, one of the main reasons of this issue is related to vivid and colorful television programs, especially animations. In fact, they are so addictive that children cannot get rid of watching TV, and they spend excessive amount of time to doing this unconsciously. It is obvious that in past time, there were no such opportunities to create these types of animations and children did not watch television a lot. In addition, as a result of technological development in majority of countries, televisions can be connected with internet, and satellite networks, which can provide television with the TV channels from foreign countries. Hence, children are more likely to confront with the most interesting programs. Another clear reason is that parents nowadays are busy with their job, and to them, the straightforward way for their children to focus on something is watching TV.

Regarding the impacts of this trend, there are both positive and negative results for children. It should be accepted that children spend much time on cartoons which are mostly based on science fiction in modern world. As a result of this, their imagination ability will become advanced, and they will think creatively. Moreover, science and technology will impress them so effectively that in future, they may become professional scientists. Nevertheless, watching TV a lot can contribute to several health problems. For example, TV screen emit the electromagnetic waves which can damage human’s eyesight, as interaction between eye and screen takes long time.

To conclude, as a result of parents’ attention to children and developed television contents, children nowadays are more likely to spend excessive amount of time in front of TV. It should be accepted that this trend can result in their benefit related to creativity, and also health problems due to screen effect.