Nowadays, people of all ages from certain parts of the world spend most time at home rather than going outdoors. Discuss the reasons, is this negative or positive development?

Today, there is a tendency that in particular parts of the world, numerous people belonging to all age groups are less likely to spend time outdoors and rather prefer staying at home. Regarding this trend, there are several causes and effects which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, because technological development has been continuously advancing from the last century, several trends have been triggered to grow by it. One of noticeable ones is that people are interested in being involved with their activities which depend on the age at home. For example, there are such people who prefer telecommunication to make their living rather than working in office jobs. This is because modern gadgets are full of functions that let them do this. In addition, by this way, they do not have to allot their income to additional expenses such as public transport to commute. Secondly, in some countries, some products are not available to come by pervasively in shopping centers and this leads costumers to use online shoppings at home. However, even in opposite case this happens, because they are reluctant to do shopping outdoor.

Turning to the effects, what the tendency will mainly result in is numerous antisocial people. Firstly, it is not considered beneficial for children, because avoiding spending time with others will not let their soft skills develop. Hence, they will not understand the importance of collaborative activities which may give a rise to problems related to the job in the future. On the other hand, spending more time at home may be considered as an positive development, since some individuals do not use their cars. As a result, traffic congestion may decrease so that the rate of exhaust gas emitted by automobiles does not be disappointing level. Furthermore, noise pollution may no longer very annoying for citizens.

In summary, technology has a noticeable role in people choosing indoor activities with several additional factors. In fact, people do not want to spend extra money and also prefer online shopping. Consequently, this will cause bad habits such as not being interested in social activities. However, environment may get benefit with low level pollution.