Studies suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons? And what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

Since the invention of television, human life has undergone drastic transformations as their recreational behaviors involve more presence of modern technology. Many claim that the hours children spend on watching TV are extended on a regular basis thus they have little time to invest in outdoor activities. Regarding this issue, there are a number of causes leading to it as well as some solutions to address this problem.

To begin with, one possible reason drawing children's attention to TV is the ever-increasing pace of technological advancement in many countries. TVs nowadays are no longer in dual colors like those first created during the revolution of electronic equipment, but broadcasting a wide range of contents with vibrant and colorful animations. Another root cause in association with the frequent TV viewing habit could be the lack of parental supervision and involvement in their children daily routine. In fact, due to the high living standard in major urban areas, parents are more likely to devote a majority of their spare time working overtime or attending business conferences, leaving their children expose to unpleasant situations and cope with criticism from the harsh outside world. To respond to this, the young minds tend to lead a sedentary lifestyle and television channels or cartoons characters should be their mental friends.

Therefore, effective solutions should be taken into account to tackle this issue. First, parents should be able to apply some methods to raise children's awareness of the negative influences of constantly sitting in front of the TV screen for prolonged periods. In other words, rules about TV schedules are clearly imposed and willingly followed to avoid obesity or eye-related diseases. In addition, participating in sports or exercises as well as family reunions as a communal routine of every member could connect the gap between generations. By taking such activities, more emphasis should be placed to promote communication and sympathy between children and parents, eventually creating a platform for a more engaged and energetic way of living.

To conclude, once the reasons why children watch too much TV are clearly defined, actions including parental control and extra care would be taken to foster the active lifestyle of children.