Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that business conferences and training sessions are held online on a frequent basis in comparison to those in the previous times when the technology was not as fast-growing as it is today. Although the drawbacks of this trend are, indeed, a big concern for many of us, the positive aspects appear to be more significant.

Regarding the negative aspects, the availability and speed of the Internet connection might impose a number of challenges to many attendees if they cannot afford for a stable online account. In fact, interruption during the middle of the discussion due to any sudden breakdown of the unstable network connection of the users can lead to imperfect conferences with unpleasantness and dissatisfaction from others staff. In addition, it is a common case that many employees may find it difficult to thoroughly obtain the information included in the online instructions. This is because of the lack of face-to-face interaction and thus they are likely to lose their concentration on the formal meetings when attending for hours, especially international conferences where most of the staff come from different countries.

On the other hand, the employment of the online training platform shall be an intimate bridge connecting international organizations across borders, regardless of their geographical distance or daytime. This approach is more likely to push such companies to their fullest potentials since employees participating in the meetings or training have the opportunity to get exposed to a wide range of cultures and customs, thus their social networks and business allies are broadened significantly. Furthermore, another benefit when having discussions using applications on the Internet is associated with the fast pace of announcements or information being disseminated throughout the internal employee network. New marketing strategies or thorough understanding about customers' insights, for example, are disclosed to every member of the company, given a few clicks and a nick of time.

To conclude, the disadvantages involving technological fraud and lack of seriousness in participation should be taken into consideration, but I am of the opinion that companies' meetings or training programs do play a more essential role as they generate a number of beneficial values.