In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Recently, the issue of longevity has become the subject of heated debate. There are several problems caused by this phenomenon, such as a lack of people of working age, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, including implementing immigration-friendly policies. In this essay, I will explain the problems stemming from this undesirable trend and present some solutions to the problem.

It seems difficult to deny that several related problems can be anticipated as the average life span in developed countries has increased. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that having a huge number of elderly populations causes these nations to have difficulty earning vast sums of public money from citizens. To be more specific, this trend places a heavy burden on younger citizens given that they are forced to pay an astronomical amount of tax money for supporting the eldery, leading the economy to collapse. Another grave issue is that there will be more people of retirement age who will have the right to receive a pension.

There are, however, several courses of action that the government could take to address the problems described above. The most practical solution to this problem is that the government should encourage a multitude of young foreigners to emigrate. If a country gives permanent residency visas to foreigners skilled at a multitude of fields where there is a lack of workforce, they will be more likely to become motivated. This makes it possible for them to devote a huge amount of time and energy to contributing to the development of the country. A second feasible solution would be for the government to extend the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. Nowadays, people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive working life, and this will contribute to a rise in the number of taxpayers.

In conclusion, although it does not seem straightforward to handle the aforementioned problems, these problems can be tackled with a variety of steps to some extent. If the authorities make an effort, we can combat the problems.