Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of history education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that learning history should take precedence over studying other subjects, such as science and technology, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that educating history is crucial rather than other subjects. Proponents of this argument insist that learning history gives people an opportunity to reflect on our ancestors' misbehaviour, preventing them from committing the same mistakes that happened in the past, such as imperialism and colonisation. Furthermore, we have to take responsibility for bequeathing our history to future generations considering that history education makes it possible for them to have patriotism as well as to feel a sense of belonging to their mother country.

My opinion, however, is that teaching science and technology should be a priority. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that graduates who majored in science and technology are more likely to find employment opportunities with greater ease because there are a number of prestigious and well-paying occupations in this technologically-advanced era. Another convincing reason is that people who have a tight grasp of knowledge related to science and technology can contribute to the development of our society. To be more specific, people with a deeper understanding of science and technology can devise a multitude of groundbreaking solutions to contemporary issues that human beings face, meaning that not only can they lessen the impact of climate change but they can save a myriad of people suffering from global hunger. Given these points, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that emphasis should be placed on science and technology compared to history for the reasons discussed above.