Q19 Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to assist emerging countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that practical help and advice for less-developed nations should take precedence over financial support, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that third world countries can benefit a great deal from monetary assistance do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of money is required to establish a high quality of infrastructures, including railways and roads, making it possible for poorer nations to invigorate economic growth. In fact, these nations are incapable of building expensive facilities without receiving monetary help from global foundations. Furthermore, a myriad of citizens in Africa are suffering from a lack of basic necessities, such as primary education and balanced meals. If it were not for financial assistance, they would have difficulty living a better life.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on practical support and technical advice than financial help. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial to gain a huge sum of money from international charities for developing countries in the short term, relying on monetary support causes them to become more dependent on other countries in the long term. Thus, receiving only advice and invaluable knowledge facilitates economic and political progress. In addition, the majority of emerging countries across the globe are experiencing a high level of corruption. If third world countries acquire numerous useful pieces of advice from experts in global organisations, this phenomenon will be alleviated. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that practical advice and assistance should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.