Q18. Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to support emerging nations has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that practical support and advice for less-developed countries should take precedence over monetary assistance, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that third world countries can benefit a great deal from monetary assistance do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of money is required to establish infrastructures helping developing countries to facilitate economic growth, including as railways and roads. In fact, emerging nations are incapable of building expensive facilities without receiving monetary support from global institutions. In addition, a myriad of citizens in Africa are suffering from a lack of basic necessities, such as primary education and balanced meals. If it were not for financial assistance, they would have difficulty leading a better life.

My opinion, however, is that more emphasis should be placed on practical aid and technical advice for emerging countries than financial help. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial for developing nations to receive monetary support from global foundations in the short term, relying on financial assistance will cause them to become dependent on other countries in the long term. Thus, there is a high possibility that first world nations exploit developing countries. Furthermore, the majority of emerging countries across the globe are experiencing a high level of corruption. If they acquire numerous pieces of useful advice from experts in global organisations, corruption will be alleviated. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that practical advice and assistance should be a priority for the reasons discussed above.