Q15: Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the issue of university education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the best path to a successful career is to study at university, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

on the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are some advantages that can be derived from finding employment instantly after graduating from high school to build a better career. Proponents of this argument insist that teenagers can have a chance to gain real experience and learn practical skills related to their chosen professions at an early age, which allows teenagers to surpass counterparts entering university in fiercely competitive society. Another argument is that practical skills are not instilled at university since university education tends to focus on theory. For these reasons, some people hold the view that young people should be employed right away after secondary education.

My opinion, however, is that forcing youngsters to enter tertiary education plays a key role in their future career. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that having a tight grasp of a myriad of theoretical knowledge resulting from higher education can lead people to become an expert in the field related to their major. To exemplify, one recent article released by Seoul Times illustrates that approximately 70% of employees holding high positions in Samsung earned a barchelor’s degree, which means that those who studied further are more likely to become promoted. Another convincing reason is that people who graduated from university can have a wide range of options in a job market considering that academic qualifications are necessary in some professions, such as doctors and teachers. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that receiving tertiary education should be encouraged for the reasons discussed above.