Q15. Research says more and more business training and business meeting are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether online business meetings and training sessions are advantageous has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to holding business meetings and training sessions on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that employees can benefit a great deal from attending business meetings and training sessions on the Internet. Proponents of this argument insist that the introduction of online business meetings and training sessions has revolutionised the way workers take part in them regardless of time and place with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, working people are able to save time as they do not need to travel to and from their workplaces. In other words, commuting to and from work deprives employees of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on dedication to their work.

My opinion, however, is that the drawbacks of participating in remote business meetings and training sessions are more significant. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that distance business meetings and training sessions often prevent working people from receiving instant feedback and advice from their co-workers, which can even lead them to have difficulty having a tight grasp of their duties. Furthermore, if it were not for face-to-face meetings and training sessions for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their colleagues as well as senior managers who help them to develop interpersonal skills. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables workers not only to feel a sense of belonging to their companies but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of partaking in remote business meetings and training sessions surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.